Friday, October 13, 2017

Digital Citizenship Week!

Digital Citizenship week will be celebrated October 15-21 this year. Although #digcit is something every teacher should address every day, this next week will put a special emphasis on the importance of growing great digital citizens. Below are some of the activities planned and how you can participate.

October 15: We kick off our fall book study and Digital Citizenship Week with a Tweet & Talk of Jennifer Casa-Todd's book Social LEADia on EduMatch, hosted by Sarah Thomas (@sarahdateechur). Tweet & Talk is a Twitter chat paired with a livestream video.  Participants can either tweet using the #EduMatch hashtag, watch the video on YouTube Live and comment as they watch (podcasts.edumatch.org/tweettalk), or both. The Social LEADia Tweet & Talk will be followed up with a three-week slow chat featuring questions from Jennifer's book. For more information about creating digital leaders, check out this blog on the EduMatch https://edumatch4education.com/2015/07/16/guest-post-moving-from-digital-citizenship-to-digital-leadership-via-jcasatodd/


October 16:  Webinar with Dr. Kristen Mattson & Jamie Lewsadder. 2pm PT/ 4pm CT/ 5pm ET, moderated by Nancy Watson. Register at http://iste.adobeconnect.com/eazcubukwqy7/event/event_info.html

October 19: Not one but TWO Twitter chats! #ISTEChat's topic will be on Digital Citizenship and will be led by Marialice Curran (@mbfxc) - 5pm PT/ 7pm CT/ 8pm ET. Immediately following #ISTEchat, tune in for the monthly #digcit chat; the topic will be The Role of Ed Tech Coaches in the Development of Digital Citizenship and will be co-hosted by members of @DigCitPLN and @EdTechCoaches. (Shoutout to Greg Gilmore of the #etcoaches network for the collaboration!) Questions are here:






Are you doing anything special to celebrate Digital Citizenship Week? Be sure to tag @pisdtech when you share! Read more about Digital Citizenship Week at Common Sense Media: https://www.commonsense.org/education/digital-citizenship-week

No comments:

Post a Comment